Burlington Hydro’s ‘THE POWER TO BE SAFE’ Initiative Receives Safety Excellence Award

Burlington Hydro’s Program to Enhance Public Education and Awareness of Powerline and Electrical Safety Recognized by the Electricity Distributors Association (EDA)

March 28, 2017 - Burlington Hydro (BHI) is pleased to announce that it has received the Electricity Distributors Association’s (EDA) newly launched Public Electrical Safety Excellence Award – sponsored by the Electrical Safety Authority (ESA) - for its “Power to be Safe” campaign.

“At the core of Burlington Hydro's mandate is the commitment to deliver a trusted source of SAFE, efficient and reliable power to our customers,” said Gerry Smallegange, President and CEO, Burlington Hydro Inc. “We’re committed to promoting and educating residents in our community, Burlington's youth, businesses, first responders and our staff on safe practices and the safe use of electricity.”

‘The Power to Be Safe’ initiative, launched in 2016, is at the core of a comprehensive approach to public safety awareness. This includes a newly launched web-based safety portal, a public electrical safety awareness survey, safety-themed newsletter, and targeted safety awareness messaging via social media, among others.  Electrical safety around the house and in the yard, around distribution equipment and powerlines, and while our kids are at play, are all central themes of Burlington Hydro’s award-winning safety awareness messaging.

BHI continues to execute programs that support a preventive approach to safety that not only empowers its employees, but empowers everyone in our community regardless of age or demographic.

The Electrical Safety Authority Public Electrical Safety Excellence Award is presented to a local electricity distribution utility member of the EDA which has demonstrated a strong commitment to improving public electrical safety through education and awareness initiatives.

Other top-performing electricity utilities from across Ontario were honoured on March 27 at the industry’s Awards Gala, which took place as part of the Electricity Distributors Association’s (EDA) Annual General Meeting.